Players from Seattle Storm pose with their WNBA trophy.
Players from Seattle Storm pose with their WNBA trophy. Image Credits : Twitter (@seattlestorm)

After 4 months of hectic and competitive basketball, the WNBA season has now come to a conclusion. The Seattle Storm are the 2020 WNBA Champions. On Tuesday, they beat the Las Vegas Aces 92-59, in Game 3 to complete a three-game sweep in the Finals. With this win, the Storm secured their second title in the last three seasons and the fourth in franchise history.

Seattle Storm demolished top seed, Las Vegas Aces 92-59 to complete their three-game sweep and to win the WNBA Finals series. Breanna Stewart finished with 26 points and grabbed 4 rebounds. Current league MVP, A’ja Wilson of the Aces finished with 18 points, 4 assists and 6 rebounds in a humiliating loss.

After their fourth championship, the Storm is tied with the now-defunct Houston Comets and Minnesota Lynx for the most championships in WNBA history. The Storm has been to the WNBA Finals four times now, and have won all four times. They are 4-0 in the WNBA Finals.

Seattle Storm had a record of 18-4 in the regular season. This earned them a No. 2 overall seed in the playoffs. They earned a by straight to the semi-finals, despite losing out on the top spot due to a tiebreaker. They swept the Minnesota Lynx, in the semi-finals to enter the WNBA finals. To give a perspective on how well they played, the Storm won the WNBA Finals in six straight matches. Five of the six games had a double-digit lead.

Breanna Stewart was awarded the WNBA Finals MVP for her outstanding performance in the finals series. With this Finals MVP win, she has now won the accolade two times in three seasons. After putting up a historic 35 points and 15 rebounds in Game 1 finals, she continued to put up great numbers. She averaged 28.3 points and 7.3 rebounds while shooting 62.8 percent from the field, and 65 percent from 3-point land. Breanna is only the fifth player in WNBA history to win multiple finals MVP awards.

Veteran Sue Bird has created a WNBA history. She is now the first WNBA player to win a WNBA title in three different decades. She has won the title in 2004, 2010, 2018, and now in 2020. Only 2 NBA players have achieved this feat, Tim Duncan and John Salley. Sue Bird created WNBA playoffs and finals history, as setting a new career-high 16 assists in Game 1 of the finals.