pic [email protected]

The Current Head Coach of Afghanistan National Squad as well as former West Indies all-rounder Phil Simmons is going to step down from his position after the 12th edition of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. This comes after the 56-year-old experienced cricketer explained that he thinks he has achieved his goal of taking Afghanistan squad to World Cup and now it is time to bring the curtains down for him.

The former Windies player Simmons said on the development,”I have thought about it and I have actually given the ACB my notice that I will not be renewing my contract. I will move on to something different once my contract expires on July 15″. Notably, Simmons’ contract with Afghanistan Cricket (ACB) is going to end after prestigious cricket tournament but the veteran player might get extension from the board so that the squad would rise even better under his guidance.

Earlier in last month, Afghanistan Cricket Board picked up Gulbadin Naib over Asghar Afghan as One Day International captain even after knowing the fact that Asghar has four years captaincy experience across all the cricket formats. Though, the decision created havoc among the team players including rashid Khan and Mohammed Nabi. Even Simmons was not looking satisfied with the decision as he had no clue about such a big move by ACB.

Gulbadin Naib-led Afghanistan squad will begin their cricket cup campaign against five-time World Cup champions Australia on June 1, 2019 at Bristol County Ground and before commencing their 50-over maiden tournament Afghanistan men will face Pakistan in a warm-up fixture at Bristol on May 24 and also battle with hosting team England at London on May 27, 2019. Moreover, the glitzy tournament of ICC World Cup 2019 is just 10 days away from kick-start and the thrilling opening clash of the tournament will witness two powerful teams including England and South Africa taking on each other.

Afghanistan Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Gulbadin Naib (Skipper), Mohammad Shahzad (wicket-keeper), Noor Ali Zadran, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Aftab Alam, Hamid Hassan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman