pic credit: [email protected] Khawaja

Ahead of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, Australian squad faced a big blow as their star opening batsman Usman Khawaja suffered an injury scare during a warm-up match against West Indies. The 32-year-old left-handed batsman was smacked by a deadly bouncer bowled by explosive all-rounder Andre Russell in the second over of the match when Aussies were chasing the target of 230 runs. After the delivery by Russell, Khawaja looked shattered with the incident and was forced to walk out from the pitch along with Australian team doctor Richard Saw.


Keeping their fingers crossed Australian Cricket Board were stuck in tensed situation after the incident but after proper scanning when it reveals that nothing is serious, the Kangaroos felt a sigh of relief.

The 35-year-old left-handed batsman Shaun Marsh who hit an unbeaten fifty in the match said on the development, “it was very scary. It copped him on the side of the cheekbone. The main thing is he is OK and can bounce back pretty quickly. He was a bit shaken, as you are when you get hit on the head. But he is a tough cookie, Uzzy, and he’ll be ready to go”.

Later on, Khawaja did not take part in the match further but despite the fact, Aussies won the innings by seven wickets. As a result, Aussies won their very first warm-up fixture out of three before starting World Cup Journey,

Moreover, Australians will come in the tournament as defending champions as they won 2015 edition of Cricket World Cup and not only this they clinched the title of CWC total five times.

Aussies will start their World Cup Campaign against Afghanistan from June 1, 2019 at Bristol Country Ground, England. Moreover, before commencing their 50-over maiden tournament Aussies will face the hosts England in next warm-up fixture at The Rose Bowl Stadium on May 25. Australia will play its last warm-up match against Sri Lanka at  The Rose Bowl, Southampton on May 27, 2019.

Australian Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Aaron Finch (Skipper), Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner and Adam Zampa