IPL 2019

Ahead of the 13th season of grand Indian Premier League, the date and venue of the mega auction has been announced. The auction for prestigious event of IPL 2020 is scheduled to be held on December 19th in Kolkata. For the first time in the history of IPL, the Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to conduct the auctions in a new city and not in Bengaluru.

In the upcoming auction, all the eight franchises will be allotted a balance of Rs 85 crore in total to build their respective teams. These eight franchises are Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Notably, each franchise will also receive an additional budget of Rs 3 crore in addition to the given balance. With this given amount of auction balance, all the franchises have to select their squads for the upcoming season.

According to the IPL report, Delhi Capitals have received the biggest auction budget of worth Rs 8.2 crore. This was then followed by the Rajasthan Royals franchise who attained Rs 7.15 crore as an auction budget. Kolkata Knight Riders got Rs 6.05 crore while Sunrisers Hyderabad received Rs 5.3 crore. On the other hand, Kings XI Punjab gained Rs 3.7 crore for 2020 IPL auctions and three-time title winners Chennai Super Kings obtained Rs 3.2 crore as auction balance. Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore who didn’t win a single IPL trophy so far have received the lowest auction balance of worth Rs 1.8 crore.

In IPL season 13, Mumbai Indians will take the field as defending champions as they won the previous title against MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. With that historic win, Mumbai Indians also became the first IPL franchise who lifted the lustrous trophy four times.

It will be interesting to see which player will go under the hammer in the upcoming auction ceremony or who will be retained by the franchises. Some franchises have already started making changes in their respective teams. Delhi has roped in talented cricketer Mayank Markande, West Indies all-rounder Sherfane Rutherford and brilliant player Ravichandran Ashwin in the squad.