pic credit: [email protected] Cricket

The England cricket team selectors have recently announced the unchanged 13-man squad for fifth Ashes Test against old-foe Australian on Tuesday. Even after their embarrassing 185-run defeat in the fourth Test encounter, England selectors resist to change their squad for the last Ashes battle at Oval Stadium, London. The hosts are quite hopeful with the same team for the upcoming battle.

Despite Ben Stokes’ shoulder injury, England included him in the fifth Ashes Test squad as there are some chances of his well-recovery till the final showdown. Durham paceman Stokes, picked up a serious injury during the first innings of the fourth Test after which he walked off the field and didn’t play the next innings at Old Trafford Cricket. If Stokes will declare unfit to bowl at the Oval Stadium in next match, he is expected to play as a specialist batsman on Thursday. As per the reports, Sam Curran or Chris Woakes could replace Stokes in the bowling department if he didn’t play in the match. Currently, the England squad is just keeping its fingers crossed about the fitness of Stokes and other players. Stokes’ presence in the fifth Test match could turn the tables for hosts.

It will be interesting to see how the hosts will perform in the fifth and the last Ashes test of the season against Australia. Only time will tell whether Kangaroos will dominate the lead in the next battle also or England will level up the series with a 2-2 verdict.

In the fourth Ashes Test, Australia whitewashed the hosting team England by 185 runs. All thanks to stalwarts Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon who scalped wickets for their squad’s win on Sunday. While chasing the monumental target of 383 runs against Aussies, England bundled out at 197 runs in 91.3 overs and the Kangaroos dominated the 2-1 lead in five-match Ashes series 2019.

England squad for fifth Ashes Test: Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Joe Root (captain), Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow (wicket-keeper), Jos Buttler, Craig Overton (Somerset), Jofra Archer, Jack Leach, Stuart Broad, Chris Woakes, and Sam Curran