pic credit: [email protected] Bairstow

The official selectors of England Cricket Board (ECB) have roped in Jonny Bairstow as a backup player in the upcoming two-match Test series against New Zealand later this month. This came to happen after the shocking ankle injury of star batsman Joe Denly during the training session before T20I opener at Hagley Oval Stadium in Christchurch.

The 33-year-old experienced right-handed batsman Denly suffered a ligament injury in his right ankle while practicing for the T20I campaign. As a result, he decided to rule himself out from the ongoing five-match series. But now ahead of the important Test campaign, ECB is expecting for his return in the team in the forthcoming three-day warm-up match starting on November 15.

However, nothing could be said right now whether Denly will be declared fit to play the prestigious Test series against Black Caps or not. This is the reason why England has called Bairstow in the team in place of Denly. Earlier, the brilliant wicket-keeper batsman Bairstow was left out from the original Test squad against Kiwis due to his flop show in Ashes 2019. But now the official team selectors are set to give another chance to fix all the things without any mistake. It will be interesting to see whether the  Yorkshireman will be able to come back stronger or not.

Currently, England is hoping to bounce back against New Zealand in ongoing T20I series as the hosts are leading with a 2-1 scoreline. Following the conclusion of the grand T20I campaign on Sunday in Auckland, England will start prepping up for Test series. The very first Test match between both the traditional rivals is scheduled to take place at Bay Oval Stadium in Mount Maunganui from November 21st. While the second one will be played at Seddon Park in Hamilton from November 29th.

Here’s check out the 14-men England squad for upcoming two-match Test series against New Zealand starting from November 21st: 

England squad for Test series: Joe Root (Captain), Jofra Archer, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Jack Leach, Joe Denly, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, and Ben Stokes