pic credit: [email protected] Cricket

The dauntless squad of England squared off the ongoing five-match T20I series by 2-2 scoreline against New Zealand at McLean Park on Friday. The record-breaking performances of Dawid Malan and Eoin Morgan helped the visitors to register a 76-run win over Kiwis in the fourth T20I encounter. The Black Caps had no answer for Morgan’s jaw-dropping sixes and Malan’s astonishing boundaries in front of their home crowd. The only thing won by the hosts in this match was the toss after which they elected to bowl first.

However, the visitors got off a slow start at the beginning of the game as both the destructive openers Tom Banton and Jonny Bairstow lost their respective wickets in just seven overs. But as long as swashbuckling batsman Dawid Malan is playing for England there is no need to worry at all. The 32-year-old left-handed batsman singlehandedly scored unbeaten 103 runs for his team alongside the star skipper Eoin Morgan who lost his wicket to Tim Southee when he was just 9 runs away from a brilliant century. In this way, England set the monumental target of 241 runs for the hosts.

While Chasing such a big score of 242 runs against England, Black Caps had a jerky start as both the opening batsmen Martin Guptill and Colin Munro lost their wickets very early. When on one side Guptill scored just 27 runs off 14 balls, Munro on the other bagged 30 runs. After the dismissal of both the openers, Kiwis witnessed a string of wickets and al last bundled out at just 165-run stand. As a result, England won the match and leveled up the series with a 2-2 scoreline.

The winning team’s captain Eoin Morgan expressed his feeling after the remarkable victory of England over Black Caps in the fourth T20I encounter. He said, ” I’m absolutely over the moon, seeing young guys come through today particularly with the ball, and then seeing Dawid Malan coming through and making a century and the most of his opportunity, that’s what we want to see”.

Brief scores

England: 241/3: Dawid Malan (103*), Eoin Morgan (91), Tom Banton (31), Mitchell Santner (2/32), Tim Southee (1/47), and Daryl Mitchell (0/25)

New Zealand: Tim Southee (39), Colin Munro (30), Martin Guptill (27), Matt Parkinson (4/47), Chris Jordan (2/24), and Tom Curran (1/26)