pic credit: [email protected] Morgan

The skipper of 15-men England World Cup squad, Eoin Morgan suffered a injury scare in left index finger during the practice session at Southampton ground on Thursday. The English team felt the big blow before commencing their warm-up fixture against Australia. The star batsman immediately went for the x-ray and it was found that the injury is not serious. If Morgan is ruled out from some of the World Cup matches then the whole England team will face a major jolt in their way to lift World Cup trophy this year.

The 32-year-old experienced captain said on his fully developed strategy for upcoming World Cup ,”I wouldn’t say it’s been smooth, I’d say we’ve been better equipped at dealing with anything that’s cropped up, certainly as a group”. Further he also added, “our prep and planning has been excellent and the guys have responded to that by performing on a consistent basis”.

Earlier during the fourth One Day International match against Pakistan, the limited-over skipper Morgan was suspended by the cricket authorities for slow over-rate in the match. Not only this Morgan was also fined with 40% of his match fees during the 50-over series. Moreover, Morgan has proved his magic in white ball format as he helped his side to turn their fortunes in ODIs along with the head coach Trevor Bayliss. Both the cricket legends took their squad to number one position in the ODI format with their exceptional efforts.

The three-time runners up in World Cup tournament England cricketers will open the World Cup campaign against the South African squad at Oval Stadium on May 30 and before starting their 50-over journey the English players will face five-time champions Australia in warm-up sessions on May 25 at Southampton Stadium and also take on Afghanistan team on May 27 at The Oval Stadium in second warm-up fixture. Earlier in the last week, England’s squad sealed their five-match One Day International series against Pakistan with a 4-0 clinical win.

England Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jonny Bairstow (Wicket-Keeper), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.