pic credit: [email protected] Morgan

The Superstar Skipper of England squad Eoin Morgan has been suspended for fourth ODI of the five-match ODI series against Pakistan on Wednesday as he maintained a slow over-rate during the third One Day International match against Pakistan squad at Bristol County Ground on May 14. The suspension was imposed by Richie Richardson of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel after the hosting team went two-over short when the time allowance was taken into consideration.


Morgan was fined 40 percent of his match fees for the punishable offence and his team-mates were also directed to pay 20 percent of their respective amount of match fees as fine.

On the match front, English cricketers defeated the green army by six wickets with 31 balls still left in the game and the credit for the successful win goes to brilliant wicket-keeper batsman  Jonny Baristow who played a fine knock of 128 runs in just 93 balls. Despite his outstanding innings in the match, the 29-year-old faced the criticism from ICC panel for breaching ‘Level 1’ of the ICC Code of Conduct during the match,

Under the act of Level 1, those players or cricketers who are involved in the abuse of cricket equipment, clothing, ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match would be punished with the legal proceedings. During the third 50-over match Baristow struck the stumps with his bat after his dismissal by Junaid Khan in the 29th over.

Baristow admitted to his offence and accepted the sanction proposed by Richie Richardson  without any further argument as there was no need for any official hearing after his clearly stated offence. The on-field umpires in the match including Michael Gough, Paul Reiffel and third umpire Chris Gaffaney laid the charges on the English cricketer.

Moreover after completing their five-match maiden tournament both England and Pakistan will start their World Cup 2019 campaign against South Africa and West Indies respectively. Not only this, both the teams will also take part in warm-up matches to prep themselves for the 12th edition of Men’s Cricket Cup.

England Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Eoin Morgan (Skipper), Jonny Bairstow (Wicket-keeper), Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Tom  Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, David Willey, Mark Wood, Ben Stokes, Jason Roy and Chris Woakes

Pakistan Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Sarfaraz Ahmed (Skipper and Wicket-Keeper), Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shoaib Malik.