pic [email protected]

The former Australian cricketer David Hussey has recently been appointed as the head coach of Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL) franchise Melbourne Stars after sacking New Zealand’s National Team coach Stephen Fleming. The 41-year-old Hussey has signed a two-year contract with the franchise and with this new appointment he also stepped down from the previous position of Cricket Victoria Board which he held last year.


Earlier in 2008, Hussey made his international Twenty20 debut for Australia against India. Although, in that tournament, he didn’t get the chance to bat but he took a solo wicket in the game.

Speaking on his appointment in the team Hussey expressed his excitement by saying, “Stephen has done some remarkable things with this team over the period and I’ll be looking to capitalise on this while bringing in some strategy and style of my own”. While on the other side President of Melbourne Stars Eddie McGuire said on the joining of Hussey in the team, “David is a quality person, a Melbourne Star through and through and someone we are extremely confident will help guide the club through its next exciting phase”.

Moreover, the right-handed batsman Hussey played a total of 48 matches in Big Bash League for Melbourne franchise in which he amassed a total of 855 runs in seven seasons. In the eighth edition of grand cricket tournament, Melbourne Stars reached to the finals but was not able to clinch the title against defending champion Melbourne Renegades who won the last year’s title at Marvel Stadium.

Earlier in last month, the all-rounder skipper of Sydney Thunders club Shane Watson has announced his retirement from Australia’s Big Bash League (BBL) after serving four years career stint in the league. Being the skipper of Sydney Thunders, Watson has become the highest scorer as he bagged a total of 1,014 runs from 42 matches. Not only this, the Sydney favourite also showed his magic in bowling attacks as he took a total of 19 wickets for the club in the fifth edition of the tournament. With these commendable efforts by Watson, Sydney squad won their first ever BBL tournament in the history of cricket in 2016.