pic credit: [email protected]

The men in blue are still dominating the top-notch position in the current ICC World Test Championship points table after their 3-0 clean sweep over South Africa at home. Virat Kohli and team who had already sealed the three-match Test series against Proteas with a 2-0 clinical win clinched the third Test encounter also by an inning and 202 runs at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. In this way, the invincible hosts completely whitewashed the visitors with a 3-0 margin on Tuesday.

With this comfortable win, India has climbed up to 240 points in updated Test Championship standings while the other challenging competitors like New Zealand and Sri Lanka are still struggling with the same 60 points each.

India will next play against Bangladeshi Tigers in front of the home crowd once again from the next month. Both India and Bangladesh will play a three-match T20I series against each other starting from November 3rd till November 10th. This will be then followed by a two-match Test series between both the squads from November 14th till November 26th.

Here’s check out the recently updated points table of ICC World Test Championship 2019-21:

Teams Matches W L T D NRR Points
India 4 4 0 0 0 0 240
New Zealand 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Sri Lanka 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Australia 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
England 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
South Africa 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
West Indies 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0


In the inaugural season of ICC World Test Championship 2019-21, each participating team will play a total of six series. Out of these six series, all the squads will play three home series and three away against their mutually chosen opponents. Besides this, all nine teams will face six different opponents out of eight in the span of two years as it is not a complete round-robin league. These nine teams are India, Pakistan, Australia, England South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh, Australia, and Sri Lanka

The teams can accumulate a maximum of 120 points from a single bilateral series in ongoing Test Championship and the top-ranked sides who will lead the league stage at the end will automatically progress to final showdown at Lord’s Cricket Stadium, London in 2021.

The squads will receive no points for series victories but only for Test match results. The official cricket authorities will distribute the points in each and every series, regardless of the draws.