pic [email protected]

After the recently concluded five-match Ashes Test series, both England and Australia failed to book their seat among top-three positions of ICC World Test Championship’s points table. The recently updated team standings of World Test Championship 2019-2021 in which men in blue are still leading the scoreboard. The two strong ICC squads Australia and England are reigning at fourth and fifth positions respectively after their 2-2 series draw in Ashes 2019.

The hosts of this year’s Ashes series, England bounced back in the game after a 185-run defeat in the fourth test. Joe Root’s troop stunned the Australian cricket squad by 135 runs in front of the vibrant crowd of Kennington Oval on Sunday during the fifth Ashes Test. As a result, the battle for pride has been levelled up between both the arch-rivals.

Here’s check out the recently updated points table of ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021:

India 2 2 0 0 0 0 120
New Zealand 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Sri Lanka 2 1 1 0 0 0 60
Australia 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
England 5 2 2 0 1 0 56
West Indies 2 0 2 0 0 0 0
South Africa 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Bangladesh 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Pakistan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0


This is the inaugural season of ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021 and it features total nine ICC teams like India, Pakistan, Australia, England South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh, Australia, and Sri Lanka. Each participating team will play total six series. Out of these six series, each team will play three home series and three away against their mutually chosen opponents.

Besides this, each and every participating team will face six different opponents out of eight in the span of two years as it is not a complete round-robin league.  Each team can accumulate a maximum of 120 points from a single bilateral series and the top two sides who will lead the league stage at the end of the championship will automatically progress to a grand finale at Lord’s Cricket Stadium, London in 2021. Teams will receive the points on the basis of their series win and not the test matches victories.

Notably, arch-rivals India and Pakistan will not play against each other in this fixture. Apart from that Test debutants Ireland and Afghanistan will also be deprived of the prestigious format.