pic credit: [email protected]

The tigers of Bangladesh hunted down the men in blue at their own den in the nail-biting T20I opener on Sunday. The powerful visitors of Bangladesh clinched their maiden T20I victory over the confident hosts of India in the first encounter of an ongoing three-match series on Sunday. Tigers outclassed the invincible blues by a seven-wicket margin at the tricky pitch of Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. All thanks to the brilliant efforts of star wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim who knocked unbeaten 60 runs to ensure his team’s emphatic win in the prestigious campaign opener.

Amidst the toxic air conditions both Bangladesh and Indians were looking forward to having a great start. But it seemed like the visitors were not in a mood to lose at any cost. After winning toss Bangladesh decided to bowl first which eventually proved as the right decision for them as Indians failed to set a monumental target at their home pitch. However, both the explosive openers of Indian Cricket Team Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan began the match in style. But the destructive bowling spells of Bangladeshi Tigers sent them back to the pavilion at a very early stage.

When on one side, stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma lost his crucial wicket to Shafiul Islam in just first over, Dhawan on the other made his way back to the stands in 15th over. After the dismissal of both the openers, Indians lost their confidence and witnessed a quick fall of wickets. As a result, they managed to set only 148 runs on the board after 20 overs.

Chasing the below-par target of 149 runs was like a child play for Bangladesh’s swashbuckling batsman Mushfiqur Rahim as he singlehandedly lifted his squad in the tough competition against India. The visitors also got off an average start as both the outstanding players Liton Das and Mohammed Naim failed to establish a big score for the first wicket stand. But when Rahim came on the pitch he turned the tables completely for his team. He bagged 60 unbeaten runs off just 43 deliveries in the important game. As a result, tigers had the last laugh and they sealed the opener with a seven-wicket win.

The next T20I encounter will be a do-or-die situation for India on November 7th. It will be interesting to see whether the hosts will be able to level up the game with a 1-1 verdict at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot or not.

Brief scores

India: 148/6; Shikhar Dhawan (41), Rishabh Pant (27), Shreyas Iyer (22), Aminul Islam (2/22), Shafiul Islam (2/36), and Afif Hossain (1/11)

Bangladesh: 154/3; Mushfiqur Rahim (60*), Soumya Sarkar (39), Mohammed Naim (26), Yuzvendra Chahal (1/24), Deepak Chahar (1/24), and Khaleel Ahmed (1/37)