New Zealand won by 80 runs. New Zealand came back roaring and taught India a lesson in the first T20 International played at Wellington. The Kiwis after being trounced 4-1 in the ODI series came out all guns flying with Munro and Siefert taking the attack to Indian bowlers from the start. The opening pair was together for 8.1 overs but it was carnage all around as they gathered 86 runs in that time period.

Seifert went into overdrive after Munro departed and deposited Krunal Pandya for consecutive sixes in the 11th over to make it clear that he was going for the kill. He was dropped by Dinesh Karthik on the last ball of that over did not help the cause either. It was then the turn of NewZealand skipper Kane Williamson as he smashed Hardik Pandya for consecutive sixes in the 15th over to carry forward the momentum.

Dinesh Karthik again dropped a sitter in the outfield this time of Ross Taylor and that summed up India’s day out in the field today. Kuggeleijn hit a couple of lusty blows to take Kiwis to 219 for 6 in their allotted 20 Overs.

But you don’t count India out even if the target is 220 because they have Rohit Sharma in their ranks. But any chances of chasing this total down were nipped in the bud by Tim Southee when he had Sharma caught by Ferguson at square leg in the 3rd over of the innings. Vijay Shankar came in at 3 to play the role of pinch hitter to carry forward the chase. Dhawan started to show his hands but his innings was also cut short on 29 when he was castled by Ferguson.

Then Santner broke the back of the chase in the 9th over by getting both Pant and Shankar. Dhoni and Krunal Pandya did strike some blows but it was all too late for India. Southee came back into the attack to take out Krunal Pandya in the 17th over but the match was far over before that.