pic credit: [email protected] de Kock

Quinton de Kock’s unbeaten 79 runs led South Africa towards astonishing nine-wicket win over men in blue at their own den M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. Proteas leveled up the prestigious three-match T20I series against India with 1-1 draw after the third and the last T20I clash on Sunday. Visitors who lost their second T20I battle against the hosts finally bounced back with the help of ace pacer Kagiso Rabada and skipper Quinton de Kock.

The only thing won by the Indian cricketers in last night’s battle was the toss after which Virat Kohli and team decided to bat first. Team India took the field in full confidence but their strategy failed against Proteas as both the explosive openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma were dismissed at a very early stage. Dhawan who came out with all guns blazing hunted down by Tabraiz Shamsi after 36 off 25 balls while ‘Hitman’ Rohit Sharma walked back to the pavilion after scoring just nine runs.

Indian skipper Virat Kohli then came on the pitch to shift the gears for his side but unfortunately, he also sent back to the stand by deadly pacer Kagiso Rabada. As a result, Kohli managed to earn only nine runs for India. This was then followed by some important cameos of emerging stars Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya who helped India to set a target of 135 runs after 20 overs.

Chasing down such a paltry target against India was like a child play for Quinton de Kock and his opening partner Reeza Hendricks. Both the fabulous openers had an excellent start against India. Everything was going according to the plan for Africa. But after the 10 overs, India got the first and last moment of celebration in the clash as Hardik Pandya dismissed Hendricks for 28 runs in 26 deliveries. However, this hardly mattered to South Africa as de Kock singlehandedly chased down the below-par target and wrapped up the match with 1-1 series draw.

Here’s check out some of the Twitter reactions after India lost to South Africa in 3rd T20I clash at M Chinnaswamy Stadium :



Both the teams will next play against each other in three-match Test series starting from October 2nd till October 23rd.

Brief scores

India: 134/9 in 20 overs; Shikhar Dhawan (36), Ravindra Jadeja (19), Kagiso Rabada (3/39)

South Africa: 140/1 in 16.5 overs; Quinton de Kock (79*), Reeza Hendricks (28), Hardik Pandya (1/23)