Pic credit: [email protected] Women

Indian women scripted the history in the second T20I clash against West Indies women’s cricket team at ‘The Daren Sammy Cricket Ground’ on Sunday night. The women in blue clinched an unforgettable 10-wicket victory over Windies at their own den and the credit of India’s historic win goes to none other than Shefali Verma and star player Smriti Mandhana who performed exceedingly well against the destructive pacers of West Indies.

The only thing won by the West Indies Women in front of their home crowd was the toss after which they decided to bat first. But it seemed like their decision didn’t work for them at all. The Caribbeans had a worst possible start while playing against India as both the talented openers Hayley Matthews and Stacy-Ann King lost their wickets too early. When on the one side, Hayley scored just 23 runs off 35 balls, Stacy on the other, bagged just seven runs for her team. Following their shocking dismissal, Chedean Nation came on the pitch to drive her side to a big score but unfortunately, she was also hunted down by Deepti Sharma. As a result, Windies set only 103 runs on the scoreboard after 20 overs.

Chasing down such a below-par target was like a child play for India as both the explosive openers Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Verma were enough to face the Caribbeans. Verma played a brilliant knock of 69 runs off just 35 deliveries while her opening partners Smriti amassed unbeaten 30 runs off 28 balls to hand Indian team an exceptional victory with 57 balls to spare.

Both India and West Indies will next take on each other in the third T20I encounter at Providence Stadium on November 15th. Currently, India is leading the five-match series with a 2-0 scoreline. It will be interesting to see whether the visitors will be able to maintain their dominance alive in the upcoming battle or the hosts will bounce back strongly in the upcoming game.

Brief scores: 

West Indies Women: 103/7; Chedean Natasha (32), Hayley Matthews (23), Natasha McLean (17), Deepti Sharma (4/10), Shikha Pandey (1/18), and Radha Yadav (1/20)

India Women: Shafali Verma (69*), Smriti Mandhana (30*), Sheneta Grimmond (0/4), Hayley Matthews (0/11), and Afy Fletcher (0/11)