The second qualifier match of the Indian Premier League 2019 took place between the Chennai Super Kings Delhi Capitals where CSK won the match by match by six wickets and an over to spare. Faf du Plessis won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his brilliant half century in the match.

After winning the toss, CSK skipper elected to bowl first, keeping in mind the dew factor and they made one change in their Playing XI as Shardul Thakur came in place of Murali Vijay while Delhi decided to play with the same team. Iyer said at the toss that they didn’t want to add any pressure on a new player.

Batting first, Delhi did not start well as they lost both of their openers inside the powerplay with just 37 runs on the board. It did not stop there as they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals which also affected their run rate. Rishabh Pant was the highest scorer in their innings with his knock of 38 runs off 25 balls. This helped DC post a respectable total of 147-9 on the board at the end of their 20 overs but that was just enough for fighting and not winning the game.

Except for Shardul Thakur, every CSK bowler was able to tick the wickets column. In this, Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Jadeja and Bravo picked up two wickets each while Dwayne Bravo was the most economical one as he conceded just 19 runs in his quota of four overs.

While chasing 148, CSK never looked uncomfortable as they did not lose any wicket till the 10th over. Both of their openers, Watson and Faf got to wonderful fifties off just 32 and 39 balls respectively. They lost a few quick wickets at the end but Ambati Rayudu’s run-a-ball 20 runs knock helped CSK win the match and book a berth in the finals.

With a victory in this game, Chennai Super Kings will play their 8th final in 10 seasons for them. They will now meet the Mumbai Indians in the finals which will be the fourth ever final played between these two teams. On the other hand, the journey for Delhi Capitals ended here and when they will look back, they will be happy as they played good all round cricket throughout the season.