pic credit : [email protected] Royals

Ahead of Rajasthan Royals’ rip-roaring match against defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the pink squad suffered from a tense situation as the Jaipur Municipal Corporation has recently slapped a notice on Rajasthan Royals to pay worth Rs 33 lakh for posting billboards and banners across the city without their permission. The Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) didn’t take prior permission from the authorities before posting hoardings in the city as well as Sawai Mansingh Stadium (SMS) for their match promotion and as a result advertisement dues have been slapped on the squad.


The deputy commissioner of revenue department, Naveen Bhardwaj said on the development,”there are two types of hoardings. One is through vendors where we cannot interfere. Another is directly outside the stadium where tax is applicable. It comes under the taxable property for which Royals have to pay the revenue or we will take action against  them as per the rules.”

The notice for non-payment of dues has been sent to Royals’ head under which the franchise has to pay Rs 1,69,468 for 25 big hoarding and Rs 32,22,640 for 23 small hoardings which have been pasted in the city without JMC’s consent. If the payment is not made within seven days then the Corporation will follow the legal procedure mentioned in Rajasthan Municipality Act, 2009.

The Royal squad lost their last match against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) after setting a small target of 139 runs in 20 overs at SMS Stadium on April 7. KKR beat the pink team by 8 wickets with 37 balls still left in their innings. Rajasthan Royals will next take on MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings on Thursday in front of home crowd at Sawai Mansingh Stadium which has the capacity of around 50,000 spectators.

Rajasthan Royals squad for IPL 2019: Ajinkya Rahane (Skipper), Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Rahul Tripathi,  Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror  Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Ashton Turner, Liam Livingstone, Shashank Singh, Riyan Parag, Shubham Ranjane, Manan Vohra