The first match of the playoffs, i.e. the Qualifier 1, took place between the Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings where MI emerged as the winners. The ‘Team in Blue’ won this game by a fair margin of 6 wickets remaining in hand and nine balls to spare. Suryakumar Yadav won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for brilliant knock in the game.

CSK skipper MS Dhoni won the toss and opted to bat first making just a solitary and forced change in their Playing XI as Murali Vijay came into the side in place of injured Kedar Jadhav. Mumbai Indians also made one change as Jayant Yadav played this game instead of Mitchell McClenaghan. This change was made keeping in mind the pitch conditions of Chepauk Stadium. Also, it was also just the second occasion when a team played with just three overseas players in a playoffs game in the history of IPL.

Batting first, Chennai Super Kings had a horrible start as they lost three wickets inside the powerplay with just 32 runs on the board. These wickets were huge as they were of Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina and Shane Watson. After getting out, Shane Watson also became the batsman to be dismissed at most number of occasions inside the powerplay (11 times).

After them, Murali Vijay and Ambati Rayudu played well to avoid any further batting collapse before the former got out for a run-a-ball knock of 26 runs. In the end, Rayudu and Dhoni stayed not out with their respective innings of 42* and 37* runs helped their team reach a competitive total of 131/4 on the board at the end of their 20 overs.

For MI, spinners did terrific job where Rahul Chahar was the pick of the bowlers with his spell of 4-0-14-2. He good good support from Krunal Pandya who was also quite economical and picked up the crucial wicket of Shane Watson.

While chasing 132, Mumbai also lost the wickets of both their openers cheaply inside the powerplay. But after them, Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan played well in the middle overs. The former went on to play till the end with his knock of 71* runs to ensure a victory for his team.

With this victory, Mumbai Indians have qualified for the finals of this year where they will meet the winner of Qualifier 2. On the other hand, CSK will now face the winner of Eliminator as they still have a chance to make it to the final four.