Rohit Sharma (Credits: @IPL Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders begin their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 campaign with a one-sided defeat against Mumbai Indians. Defending Champions MI Paltan beat KKR by 49 runs to register their first win of the season. MI captain Rohit Sharma won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his entertaining knock of 80 runs.

KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik won the toss, and as expected, he opted to field first. KKR played their first-choice four overseas players in the form of Sunil Narine, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell and Pat Cummins. They also played the likes of Nikhil Naik and Sandeep Warrier, going against the expectations of playing Rinku Singh and Prasidh Krishna.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians took the field with the same Playing XI, despite coming from a defeat in the last match. 

After losing the early wicket of Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav played tremendous knocks of 80 and 47 respectively. In the meanwhile, Sharma also completed his 200th IPL six to become the second Indian player (after MS Dhoni) to do so. After them, MI’s middle-order batsmen made small contributions to help them reach 195/5 at the end of their 20 overs.

No big knock from KKR batsmen

Kolkata Knight Riders opened with Shubman Gill and Sunil Narine, but both of them got out for single-digit scores. Karthik promoted himself up in the batting order, but could only manage to score 30 runs. With a Net Run Rate of almost 15 runs, KKR got out of the game quite early in their innings. 

The hopes completely shattered with the wickets of Russell and Morgan. Cummins hit four sixes off Jasprit Bumrah in the penultimate over, but all that was too late. 

Apart from MI’s batsmen, the credit also needs to be given to their bowlers as each one of them bowled exceptionally well.

Also Read | IPL 2020: टूर्नामेंट से बाहर हुए चोटिल मिशेल मार्श, ये विस्फोटक खिलाड़ी लेगा उनकी जगह