MI vs SRh report
Mumbai Indians won by 34 runs (Credits: @IPL Twitter)

Defending champions Mumbai Indians continue with their winning run in the tournament after a victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rohit Sharma and co. reached the pole position in the Points Table after defeating SRH by 34 runs. Trent Boult won the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

MI skipper Rohit Sharma elected to bat first after winning the toss at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. They continued with their winning combination and played with the same playing XI in this game. On the other hand, SRH made two changes as Siddarth Kaul and Sandeep Sharma came in the side for Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed.

Batting first, MI lost the big wicket of skipper Rohit Sharma in the first over of the match. After him, Quinton de Kock and Suryakumar Yadav played well where the former also went on to score a half-century. With small cameos from their middle-order batsmen and a quick-fire knock of 20 runs (4 balls) from Krunal Pandya, Mumbai posted a winning total of 208-5 on the board after their 20 overs. 

Rashid Khan once again emerged as the pick of the bowlers for SRH with his spell of 4-0-22-1. Youngster T Natarajan also continued with his brilliant performance in the tournament. 

Lack of support for David Warner

The previous games of this tournament at Sharjah have shown that a score of over 200 is chasable. SRH skipper played a sensible knock of 60 runs from 44 deliveries but got out when he started escalating. Jonny Bairstow and Manish Pandey also chipped in a few runs at the top of their innings.

The Orange Army lacks experience in its middle-order and, hence, SRH failed this time against an experienced MI bowling lineup. Mumbai’s three main quick bowlers: Bumrah, Boult and Pattinson picked up two wickets each in this game.

Also Read | IPL 2020: विराट कोहली से खास गिफ्ट मिलने के बाद खुशी से झूमे तेवतिया, फिर बदल दी अपनी व्हाट्सऐप डीपी