Sanju Samson won the 'Man of the Match' award (Pic Credits: @IPL Twitter)

Rajasthan Royals continue with their dream run in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 edition after they register their second win on-trot. Steve and co. beat KL Rahul’s Kings XI Punjab by four wickets in hand. Sanju Samson once again emerged as the hero for them and won the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

Home team skipper Smith won the toss and opted to field first at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah. RR made two changes in their side as Jos Buttler came in for David Miller. But they also made a surprise change after youngster Yashasvi Jaiswal was dropped and Ankit Rajpoot came in to replace him. 

On the other hand, Kings XI Punjab continued with their winning combination and took the field with the same playing XI.

KXIP openers took the opportunity to bat first with both hands as both Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul scored big runs for their team. Mayang Agarwal slammed his maiden IPL century while Rahul played an anchoring knock of 69 runs. Some big shots in the end from Pooran and Maxwell helped the Punjab-based franchise post a massive total of 223-2 on the board.

All the RR bowlers looked flat and turned out to be very expensive. Most of them leaked runs at an economy of over 10, while their most economical bowler Rajpoot too gave 39 runs in his quota of four overs.

Classical performance from Smith, Samson and Tewatia

Englishman Jos Buttler who was playing his first game in this season failed to deliver after getting out inside the powerplay. Skipper Steve Smith scored a quickfire fifty, but it was Sanju Samson who kept them alive in the game till the end. The 25-year old scored mind-blowing 85 runs before getting out in the 17th over. 

Rahul Tewatia got promoted to bat up in the order, and what a game it turned out for him. At one stage, he was even struggling to connect the ball but later went on to smash 30 runs in a single over off Sheldon Cottrell. With Jofra Archer smashing two sixes in the penultimate over, Curran hit the winning runs for his team. This heroic run-chase from RR batsmen is also the highest in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Also Read | IPL 2020 KX1P vs RR: मयंक अग्रवाल के तुफान से सामने उड़ा राजस्थान, जड़ा दूसरे सबसे तेज शतक