IPL 2020. (Source: IPLT20.com)

This is how the IPL points table be calculated

For every game, the winner gets 2 points. If a match is rained out or abandoned for any reason than the points are shared in that scenario. Only four teams make it to the playoffs, the first qualifier has the first ranked and second-ranked team in the league phase going at each other. The winner of this game qualifies for the final directly whereas the loser gets another chance. The third and fourth-ranked team engage in an eliminator, the loser exits the tournament and the winner has to play another eliminator with the loser of the first qualifier. The winner of this match goes to meet the finalist, the winner of the first qualifier in the final. The winner of the final takes the trophy.

Indian Premier League 2020 (IPL) Points Table after KKR Vs RR match today

Teams Points Played Won Lost Tied NRR
Delhi Capitals 4 3 2 1 0 +0.483
Rajasthan Royals 4 3 2 1 0 -0.219
Royal Challengers Bangalore 4 3 2 1 0 -1.450
Kolkata Knight Riders 4 3 2 1 0 +0.117
Mumbai Indians 2 3 1 2 0 +0.654
Chennai Super Kings 2 3 1 2 0 -0.840
Kings XI Punjab 2 3 1 2 0 +1.498
Sunrisers Hyderabad 2 3 1 2 0 -0.228


The 13th edition of IPL is upon us – Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Kolkata Knight Riders are the eight teams. At the time of publishing this article, the teams have already landed in Dubai. The excitement this time around is on a different level as there has not been much cricket apart from England and CPL. The fans are eagerly awaiting the IPL as it is the biggest extravaganza in cricket. RCB will be looking to win their first IPL trophy, the pressure is huge on Kohli and Devilliers to deliver. Mumbai Indians who are the defending champions will be looking to extend their tally. Chennai Super Kings will be looking to give Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina their retirement gift. KL Rahul will be looking to show his leadership qualities with Kings XI Punjab and the same goes for Shreyas Iyer with Delhi Daredevils.

Rajasthan Royals haven’t done much apart from winning the title all those years ago in 2008. They will be looking to make their mark once again with Stokes, Buttler, Archer, and Steve Smith in their line up. Sunrisers will once again be the dark horses. Kolkata Knight Riders will be looking to add to their tally of 2 titles which they won in 2012 and 2014.

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 Points Table

Teams Points Matches Won Lost Tied NRR
Mumbai Indians 18 14 9 5 0 0.421
Chennai Super Kings 18 14 9 5 0 0.131
Delhi Capitals 18 14 9 5 0 0.044
Sunrisers Hyderabad 12 14 6 8 0 0.577
Kolkata Knight Riders 12 14 6 8 0 0.028
Kings XI Punjab 12 14 6 8 0 -0.251
Rajasthan Royals 11 14 5 8 0 -0.449
Royal Challengers Bangalore 11 14 5 8 0 -0.607