pic credit: [email protected] Rabada

The death over specialist Kagiso Rabada is going to come back on the field as the countdown for the 12th edition of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup has begun. The 23-year-old spearhead is expected to join South African World Cup squad in the match against India on June 5 at Southampton.


The South African cricket team doctor Mohammed Moosajee said on the development, “the anticipated recovery period for KG’s injury is two to three weeks and we are hopeful he’ll make a full recovery to be part of the World Cup squad. He had a back issue that kept him out of the game for a protracted amount of time”.

Moreover, Rabada who played for Delhi Capitals in recent IPL tournament has become the highest wicket-taker of the team in the history of Indian Premier League. During his brilliant stint in IPL 2019, Rabada took a total of 25 wickets before South Africa Cricket Board pulled him out as a precautionary measure as he was suffering from severe back pain. Notably, it would take around three weeks for Rabada to be fully fit as his rehabilitation is going on.

Faf du Plessis-led South African squad will start their world cup campaign with the mouth-watering opening match of the grand tournament against the hosting team England on May 30th at The Oval Stadium, London. Before starting their grand Cricket Cup campaign, the African squad will face West Indies in the warm-up match session on May 26 on Bristol Cricket Stadium.

Moreover, the 15-men squad of South Africa has faced a major change as the star right-arm pacer Anrich Nortje who luckily booked his spot in the World Cup squad had to be ruled out from the tournament following his thumb injury. As a result, South African national team selectors roped in all-rounder cricketer Chris Morris as a replacement of injured Nortje.

South Africa Squad For ICC World Cup 2019: Faf du Plessis (Skipper), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi