pic [email protected]

The countdown for biggest international cricket event ICC World Cup 2019 has begun and all the teams have geared up themselves for this much-awaited cricket battle. The 12th edition of ICC World Cup will be hosted by England and Wales from May 30 to July 14, 2019 and the hosts are going to open the tournament at The Oval Stadium, London. England will take on South Africa in the very first match of World Cup on May 30. When all the teams areย  busy in focusing on their performances and sweating it out in the fields, New Zealand (NZ) became the first team to announce their 15 men squad. The Blackcaps selectors have decided to choose leg spinner Ish Sodhi instead of Todd Astle but the surprising part of team selection was including uncapped player Tom Blundell in the squad. Blundell who came in a surprise package for New Zealand cricket team has not made his ODI debut yet.

However, Kane Williamson will continue to lead the team in this tournament also. The 35-year-old batsman Ross Taylor is also retained in the squad, making him the seventh New Zealand cricketer to feature in four World Cup tournaments. On the other hand skipper Kane Williamson along with Tim Southee and Martin Guptill will play their third World Cup Tournament this year. Moreover, New Zealand squad have seen in a great form in recent ODI series against Bangladesh in which the team won by a 3-0 margin.


Here is the list of the players selected by New Zealand for ICC World Cup 2019:

New Zealand Squad for ICC World Cup 2019:Kane Williamson (Skipper), Tom Latham (wicket-keeper), Tom Blundell (wicket-keeper), Ross Taylor, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Colin Munro, Ish Sodhi, Henry Nicholls, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry and Jimmy Neesham.