pic [email protected]

After most of the ICC World Cup favorites have announced their squads, now it is time for Sri Lanka. The national team selectors of Sri Lanka have announced their 15-men squad for the grand tournament of ICC World Cup 2019 on Thursday.

Shockingly, many of the star Sri Lankan cricketers including  Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal and Akila Dananjaya have been left out from the squad, while names like Jeffrey Vandersay, Jeevan Mendis and Milinda Siriwardana made their brilliant comeback in Lanka’s squad. Siriwardana and Vandersay were last seen in One Day International series in October 2017 while Jeevan Mendis made his last appearance in 2015 World Cup squad.

Moreover, the presence of a senior-most player Lasith Malinga in the team has increased the chances for Sri Lanka to give tough competition to other opponents.

Sri Lankan squad will begin their grand cricket cup against New Zealand on June 1, 2019 at Sophia Gardens, England. Apart from Sri Lanka, ICC favourites India, Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh have already announced their squad earlier this month. The last date to announce World Cup squad names is April 23, 2019. The 12th edition of glitzy cricket cup is all set to commence from May 30 with the exciting opening battle between two strong contenders England and South Africa at The Oval Stadium, London.

Here’s the list of 15-men squad of Sri Lanka for ICC Men’s World Cup 2019:

Sri Lanka Squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Dimuth Karunaratne (Skipper), Kusal Perera (Wicket-Keeper), Lasith Malinga, Kusal Mendis, Isuru udana, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Milinda Siriwardana, Dhananjay  De Silva, Jeffrey Vandersay, Avishka Fernando, Lahiraj Thirimanne and Jeewan Mendis