pic credit: [email protected] Ngidi

South Africa’s star pacer Lungi Ngidi is finally coming back in the squad after recovering well from a hamstring injury. The 23-year-old right-arm fast bowler was ruled out from the grand tournament after suffering a severe hamstring injury during the match against  Bangladesh at ‘The Oval’ stadium. The incident forced the talented cricketer to be sidelined from the game for at least two weeks. But now when the brilliant player is completely fine, he is joining back the squad ahead of Proteas’ clash against title favorites New Zealand.


The star African pacer Ngidi was quoted about his strong comeback on the official Cricket World Cup website by saying, “it’s been tough. Injuries are never nice, but with the support staff that I’ve had around me it’s been pretty good and I’ve been alright. He also added, “it’s just been frustrating not being able to play”.

Africans won their last match against hapless Afghanistan with a margin of nine wickets at the pitch of Sophia Gardens. Though the team is still struggling at eighth position with only five points in the ongoing tournament but Ngidi’s comeback could turn the tables around for Proteas in upcoming matches.

In order to make it to this year’s semi-final battle, South Africa has to win all the remaining matches in the tournament. Africans are all set to take on Black Caps in their next must-win match. Kane Williamson-led squad is currently reigning at the second position in points table along with six points and so it is not that easy for Proteas to win against New Zealand.

However, Nigidi feels that his side will beat the Kiwis successfully at Edgbaston’s pitch as New Zealand’s middle and lower order have some weaknesses which Africans can test easily. After facing New Zealand on June 19th, South Africa will next lock the horns with Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Pakistan squad at Lord’s stadium on June 23rd.

South Africa Squad For ICC World Cup 2019: Faf du Plessis (Skipper), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Beuran Hendricks, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi.