pic credit: [email protected] Pollard

After a humiliating defeat against India in the recently concluded cricketing tour, the official authorities of Cricket West Indies (CWI) have decided to sack Jason Holder and Carlos Brathwaite from the captaincy in One Day International and T20 International fixtures respectively. The Board has now announced all-rounder cricketer Kieron Pollard as the new captain in limited-over format.

According to the report of Trinidad & Tobago Guardian, Pollard’s name was proposed by the selection committee of West Indies and when the vote was taken, he got the support from total six directors while the remaining six members opposed the decision. Eventually, the majority came in Pollard’s favour as a result, he has been declared as the new skipper of the WestIndies team.

The 32-year-old all-rounder player played his last One Day International match in 2016 while he was kept in reserves for the 2019 World Cup squads. In recently concluded three-match T20I series against India, Pollard showed his prowess. But it seemed like Virat Kohli and team were not in a mood to lose so in that series also India dominated the hosts comfortably.

Earlier in the second and the last Test match of the cricketing tour, India completely whitewashed the hosts by 257 runs and sealed the series with a 2-0 win. From One Day Internationals to Test matches, the series was all about men in blue. As a result, hapless West Indies didn’t win a single match and lost the campaign drastically. The only game that Windies did not lose in the latest home series was an abandoned One Day International match.

After such a big loss, Windies will now prepare themselves for the next cricket campaign against Afghanistan starting from November 5th in Dehradun. In this upcoming tournament, Kieron Pollard will lead both the T20I and ODI squads. The tour will consist of three T20 International matches, three One Day International matches, and one Test match. It will be interesting to see how the big-hitting all-rounder Pollard who has played 101 ODIs so far will perform as the skipper of the National team.