pic [email protected]

One of the most popular franchises of Big Bash League, Sydney Sixers has recently signed the swashbuckling batsman Steve Smith for the upcoming season. The spectacular right-handed batsman will replace the star wicketkeeper-batsman Peter Nevill in the squad. Smith has already represented the team in the previous BBL seasons and also knew the strengths and weaknesses of the squad. This is the reason why the selectors have roped in the 30-year-old experienced cricketer for BBL 2020.

While joining the popular franchise of Sydney Sixers, Smith expressed his feelings by saying, “I am excited about getting an opportunity to play for the Sydney Sixers again. When the schedule came out and I saw there was a chance to wear the Magenta again I jumped at the opportunity and look forward to joining up with the team after my January national team commitments have ended”.

The glitzy event of Big Bash League 2020 will start from December 17th with the grand opening battle of Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder at the iconic Gabba Stadium. While Sydney Sixers will play their campaign opener on December 18th against Perth Scorchers at Sydney Cricket Ground in front of the home crowd. It will be interesting to see whether the inclusion of Steve Smith in the team will prove handy for Sydney Sixers or they have to pay a big price for this.

However, Smith is one of the greatest cricketers of the Australian Cricket Team and ever since he came back in the field after one year ban, he played like a star. This is the reason why he also became the number one batsman in the latest ICC Test rankings and he is looking forward to consolidate his position at the top with the upcoming events. Currently, he is sweating hard in the nets to perform exceptionally well in the forthcoming two-match Test series against Pakistan starting from November 21st at the home pitch.

Here’s check out the complete squad of Sydney Sixers for the upcoming season of Big Bash League in Australia:

Sydney Sixers squad for BBL 2020:  Sean Abbott, Justin Avendano, Ben Dwarshuis,  Jack Edwards, Mickey Edwards, Daniel Fallins,  Moises Henriques,  Daniel Hughes,  Stephen O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Henry Thornton, Steve Smith, Tom Curran, and James Vince