Pic Credit: [email protected]

One of the talented bowlers in Indian Cricket team, Ravichandran Ashwin is all set to perform for Delhi Capitals in the next season of Indian Premier League. The ace Indian off-spinner who previously led the franchise of Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2019 will now switch to Delhi’s squad in the 2020 edition.

An official of Delhi Capitals franchise said on the development, “Yes, it was a work in progress and we were waiting for the signature of one of the KXIP directors before going ahead with the deal. The team management believes looking at the last season that he can play an integral role in the kind of wickets that we play on at home”.

Earlier in this year’s IPL edition, Ashwin was the favourite target of netizens as he got trolled many times for his silly mistakes during the whole season. From controversial mankading incident to No-ball issue he kept on trolling at social media platforms. The experienced cricketer who was leading King XI Punjab in the tournament mankaded Rajasthan Royals’ opener Jos Buttler in a head-on-head clash. The Punjab captain paused before delivering a ball and suddenly took off the bails without giving any warning to Buttler. After which the third umpire gave the England batsman out. This created havoc on social media as many cricket fans slammed the 32-year-old pacer for his actions.

Ashwin led the Punjab squad in 14 matches and picked up 15 crucial wickets from those encounters. Overall, the off-spinner has taken 125 wickets in 139 IPL matches with an average rate of 6.79. The speculations are raising that Punjab will appoint K.L Rahul as the new skipper after the departure of Ashwin from the team. While Delhi Capitals, on the other hand, is planning to rope in Rajasthan Royal’s skipper Ajinkya Rahane also in IPL 2020

However, IPL 2019 was not that much lucky for both Delhi Capitals and King XI Punjab as both were failed to reach the finals. Though Capitals fought very hard to make it to the final showdown of IPL but 2018 champions Chennai Super Kings outclassed the Shreyas Iyer-led squad in the second qualifier.