pic credit: [email protected] Jadeja

One of the finest cricketers of Indian Cricket Team, Ravindra Jadeja was recently bestowed with the highest sports honour of Arjuna Awards on Thursday. The President of India, Ram Nath Kovind himself conferred the grand honour to brilliant all-rounder cricketer on the 114th birth anniversary of Major Dhyan Chand. The prestigious ceremony took place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi where many eminent sports personalities came together from different fields to celebrate each other’s achievements.

While receiving the great honour of Arjuna Award at Rashtrapati Bhavan, Jadeja expressed his feelings by saying, “first of all, I would like to thank the Government of India for conferring me with the Arjuna Award. I would also like to congratulate all the winners of the Award. They’ve performed brilliantly in their fields”.

The left-handed batsman is the part of the ongoing cricketing tour between India and West Indies and performed exceptionally well for his side in the first Test match at Antigua. He successfully knocked a half-century and picked up two wickets in that Test opener against the hosts West Indies. Jadeja’s hard work finally paid off as India won the campaign opener by 318 runs at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua.

Arjuna Awards is conferred to those sports personalities who not only worked hard in the past four years but also showed brilliant leadership skills during their respective career stint. As per the criteria of Arjuna Awards, if an awardee missed receiving the grand honour during the presentation ceremony, he/she may later receive the same from the Minister-in-charge for Youth Affairs and Sports.

Here’s see the complete list of players who received the great honour of Arjuna Awards in 2019: 

Arjuna Awards 2019: Ravindra Jadeja (Cricket), Mohammed Anas (Athletics), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (Football), Sonia Lather (Boxing), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Hockey), S Bhaskaran (Bodybuilding), Ajay Thakur (Kabaddi), Anjum Moudgil (Shooting), Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (Badminton), Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para sports-badminton), Harmeet Rajul Desai (Table tennis), Pooja Dhanda (Wrestling), Fouad Mirza (Equestrian), Simran Singh Shergill (Polo), Poonam Yadav (Cricket), Swapna Burman (Athletics), Sundar Singh Gurjar (Para sports-athletics) and Gaurav Singh Gill (Motorsports)