pic credit: [email protected] Bumrah

Ahead of their match against South Africa, men in blues experienced the doping test hurdle as the Indian superstar Jasprit Bumrah has been taken for blood sample on Monday during his side’s practice session at Southampton Stadium. The Dope control officer took the brilliant pacer for doping test assessment which was conducted in two sittings. In the first sitting Bumrah was asked to give urinary sample while in the second one he went for the blood test after 45 minutes.


The doping test is mandatory for each and every Indian cricketer who took part in ICC World Cup 2019. However, it is not yet revealed that whether Bumrah is the only player to give doping test before the opener or other players will also be asked for the assessment. The test will be conducted by World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA).

On the match front, Team Indian is gearing up for a full-fledged practice session before the match against South Africa. All the Indian players are sweating out hard in the field to look in good shape and perform very well in their first match of ICC World Cup 2019.

Cricketers like Rohit, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Kedar Jadhav were seen working hard on their batting skills to score as many runs as they can against the Proteas while the bowling unit led by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Shami and Kuldeep Yadav was also seen practising bowling in the nets. The practice sessions witnessed an injury scare as well, the captain of Indian Cricket team Virat Kohli injured his thumb. However, everything is fine now and Indian skipper has been declared fit to play CWC 2019 opener.

After taking on South African squad in their opening match Indian tigers will next face five-time World Cup trophy lifters Australia on June 9, 2019 at The Oval Stadium. While South Africa will lock the horns with West Indies on June 10 at Rose Bowl Cricket Ground.

Indian Squad For ICC World Cup 2019: Virat Kohli (Captian), Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), MS Dhoni (wicket-Keeper), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami