pic [email protected]

As only a few hours are left for the opening match of biggest cricket tournament ICC World Cup 2019, South African squad faced a major jolt as their star pacer Dale Steyn has not fully recovered from the injury which he suffered at the time of Test match against Aussies at Perth in 2016. Speaking about his health condition before the match, the head coach of South African World Cup squad, Ottis Gibson said, “he is not fully ready yet” and we feel that in a six-week tournament there is no need to press the issue right now”. Further, he also added, “he is getting closer every day. We hope that if not by Sunday against Bangladesh then by the India game on 5 June, he will be ready.


The 35-year-old experienced cricketer who suffered the injury in the match against Australia had been sidelined from the game for two years and made his recent appearance in Indian Premier League. Though, he was ruled out from IPL 2019 tournament following inflammation in his shoulder. He was roped in by the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) franchise as a replacement of injured Nathan Coulter-Nile who was forced to sit in the dugout after picking up a severe injury. Steyn played only two matches for the Virat Kohli-led squad and clinch four crucial wickets in his IPL 2019 stint.

Moreover, great pacer Steyn is the highest wicket taker of South Africa who registered a total of 439 wickets on his name in Test cricket format. One of the greatest fast bowlers of all time Steyn made his way in the 15-men World Cup squad of South Africa earlier in last month. He also gave a brilliant appearance in first warm-up fixture of Proteas against Windies on May 26 at Bristol Stadium.

South Africa will play the opener of World Cup 2019 against hosting team England on May 30 at The Oval Stadium

South Africa Squad For ICC World Cup 2019: Faf du Plessis (Skipper), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Chris Morris, Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi