pic credit: [email protected] women

Windies women are all set to face women in blue at their own den in the five-match T20I series starting from this November. West Indies Cricket Board has recently announced its 14-member women’s squad for the next cricketing assignment against India. After their disappointing 1-2 defeat against Indian women in the recently concluded three-match ODI series, Windies women have pulled up their socks and ready to bounce back with more power.

The Caribbeans have called up star pacer Shakera Selman once again in the T20I squad which is going to lead by Stafanie Taylor. Selman missed the recent ODI series against India due to her injury but now she has been recovered well and set to demolish the Indians with fireful bowling attacks.

The official selector of West Indies women’s cricket team, Ann Browne-John said while announcing squad for upcoming T20I series against India, “following the ODI series, the majority of the squad has been retained. Shakera Selman will bring her experience to this team to add more firepower to the bowling attack”. Further, she also added, “the team has always had good performances in T20 matches and this series is vital preparation for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup”.

Both India and West Indies will start their prestigious T20I campaign against each other from November 9th. The first two clashes between both the traditional rivals will be played at the Daren Sammy National Stadium in St. Lucia while the last three T20I encounters are scheduled to take place at the National Stadium in Guyana. It will be interesting to see whether the confident hosts will be able to dominate the strong Indian opponents with their upcoming performance in front of the home crowd or the visitors will mark the successful win at their den.

Here’s check out the 14-member West Indies women’s squad participating in upcoming five-match T20I series against India starting from November 9th:

West Indies squad for T20I series: Stafanie Taylor (Captain), Anisa Mohammed (Vice-captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Afy Fletcher, Shakera Selman, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Chinelle Henry, Stacey-Ann King, Kyshona Knight, Natasha McLean, Shabika Gajnabi, Shermaine Campbelle, and Sheneta Grimmond