pic [email protected]

WestIndies has finally announced the 15-men squad names after a long wait. All ICC favorite teams have named their squads for grand Cricket Cup 2019 before the scheduled deadline except West Indies and now the red champions also revealed those lucky names who make their ways in Windies World Cup squad.

The star performers of West Indies Chris Gayle and Andre Russell are back in the squad but the absence of experienced cricketers like Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine came as the big shock for all the cricket fans.

While selecting the team for this year World Cup, interim chief selector of West Indies Cricket team Robert Haynes said,”there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15, including ensuring there was some continuity in the side, but we believe we have chosen a strong squad of players taking into consideration factors such as experience, fitness, team balance, current form and conditions”.

Currently, the attacking all-rounder Russell is showing his muscle power in ongoing Indian Premier League tournament for Kolkata Knight Riders while Gayle is playing for Kings XI Punjab.

The explosive players of West Indies will start their blockbuster campaign against Pakistan on May 31 at Trent Bridge Stadium. However, the grand cricket carnival will begin one day before the Windies and Pakistan battle on May 30 at ‘The Oval Stadium’ with the nail-bitting match of England and South Africa. Moreover, apart from Windies, nine squads including India, Australia, Pakistan, England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have already named their squad for the glorious 50-over tournament hosting by England and Wales.

Here is the complete list of 15-men squad of West Indies for 12th edition of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup:

West Indies squad for ICC World Cup 2019: Jason Holder (Skipper), Shai Hope (Wicket-Keeper), Andre Russell, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas,  Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell and Shimron Hetmyer.