pic credit: [email protected] Anand

Despite putting his best possible efforts in the show, Indian Chess great Viswanathan Anand lost to World No. 1 Magnus Carlsen of Norway in the Altibox Norway Chess Tournament on Thursday. As it was an all-win day for Carlsen, though the Indian tried to survive the inferior middle game but was not able to seal the match with a win against Armageddon game champion.


Carlsen mounted the pressure on Indian in the Armageddon game as he unleashed several attacks in the middle of the match which resulted in Anand’s defeat. The Indian expert Anand missed out the check-mate spell in front of World champion and lost the match eventually.

Earlier in 2012, chess ‘Grandmaster’ Viswanathan Anand clinched the title of World Championship twice against equally talented Boris Gelfand at Moscow. In that grand tournament, Anand lost his 7th game to Gelfand but made a miraculous comeback in next game where he defeated the Israeli in just 17 moves which is considered to be the shortest decisive game in the history of World Championship. For his incredible career stint in chess, the Indian player has won the highest sporting honour of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991-92. Not only this, the 49-year-old experienced legend also earned the title of ¬†Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award of India in 2007. This made him the first sportsperson to receive such a biggest civilian honour.

Apart from Anand and Carlsen, Chinese player Ding Liren his true brilliance over Wesley So of United States while his Chinese mate Yu Yangyi beat Maxime Vachier-Lagrave of France by 1.5-0.5.

Interestingly,¬† Levon Aronian of Armenia won in a hopeless situation against Alexander Grischuk of Russia after beating the time chase as he scored 1.5-0.5 against Russian before the time’s up.

Check out the brief results of first round at Altibox Norway chess tournament:

Round 1 results of Altibox Norway chess tournament: Magnus Carlsen (Norway) beat Viswanathan Anand (India) 1.5-0.5, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov (Azerbaijan) beat Fabiano Caruana (USA) 1.5-0.5, Levon Aronian (Armenia) beat Alexander Grischuk (Russia) 1.5-0.5, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave (France) lost to Yu Yangyi (China) 0.5-1.5 and Ding Liren (China) beat Wesley So (USA) 1.5-0.5.