FC Bayern
Bayern Munich won the DFB Pokal cup for the 20th time. ( source: @FCBayernEN twitter handle)

Bayern Munich won the DFB Pokal cup for the 20th time on Saturday. They defeated Bayern Leverkusen in the 77th final to win the cup for the 20th time. They have won the cup the highest number of times.

The match was played in an empty stadium with no spectators. Bayern Munich defeated Leverkusen with a scoreline of 4-2. This is the third time when Bayern Leverkusen has lost the final of the DFB Pokal cup, earlier in 2002 and 2009 they lost in the final of the tournament. Even last year Bayern Munich were the champions as they defeated RB Leipzig in the final 3-0.

David Alaba, Serge Gnabry and Robert Lewandowski scored for Munich

As Bayern Munich won 4-2 over Leverkusen three different players scored goals for Bayern. David Alaba broke the deadlock in the 16th minute of the match. Gnabry scored the second goal for the team in the 24th minute of the match, making the score 2-0 by the end of the half time. now it was Polish striker’s turn, Lewandowski scored two goals in the match. He scored his first goal in the 59th minute of the match, after which Leverkusen tried to make a comeback when German midfielder Sven Bender scored a goal in the 63rd minute. But, they were not successful as Lewandowski scored his second and team’s fourth goal in the 89th minute. The full-time score was 4-2 as Leverkusen attacking midfielder scored a goal in 90+5 minutes.

Lewandowski scored 51 goals in this season 

The Polish striker scored two goals against Leverkusen in the final making his season tally 51. He scored 51 goals in 43 matches he played this season. Out of the 51 goals, he scored 34 goals in Bundesliga itself, which is his best performance so far. He has become the third player to score more than 40 goals in 5 seasons, along with that he was declared as top scorer in Bundesliga for the 5th time.