Ballon d'Or 2018 Award Winner
Ballon d'Or 2018 Award.(Pic:

The biggest award in football was unveiled yesterday night- The Ballon d’Or. Other awards including the Kopa trophy for the best U-21 trophy were introduced too and the first female Ballon d’Or was given.

The award ceremony began with former French and Tottenham attacker David Girona greet everyone, give a year’s review- from the Champions League Final to the World Cup Final and other events. Next, the DJ- Martin Solveig- played some music, which honestly was disturbing for both the audience and the players. Finally, the 1st award for the day was given- the Kopa trophy to the world cup winner, Ligue 1, Coupe de la Ligue champion- Kylian Mbappe. The 19-year-old is certainly the best youngster out there.

The Ballon d’Or for the best female was given to Ada Hegerberg- Lyon and Norway striker who won both the French Ligue 1 and Uefa Champions League for women. The main event came and the top 10 were being announced. 10th, 9th, and 8th position were occupied by Harry Kane, Kevin De Bruyne and Eden Hazard- all from the premier league. 7th, 6th, and 5th were taken by Raphael Varane, Mohammad Salah, and Lionel Messi. Nobody was expecting Messi to be 5th, should’ve been top 3 for sure.

With the top 4 shown on the screen- Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe, and Luka Modric- the players had their fingers crossed, but there could only be 1 winner……..David Ginola announced-

“And the winner of the Ballon d’Or, best player this year is…… Lukaaaaaaa Modriccc. Modric certainly had a fantastic season- World cup finalist, Champions League winner, League champions. He beat Cristiano Ronaldo at the 2nd position by a massive 250 points. Mbappe took 3rd and Griezmann- last.

Modric adds, ” This season the change of position helped me a lot in my career. I used to play more offensively. When I dropped back, I was able to read the game better and show my creativity”.

It was certainly an end of an era. With Messi and Cristiano dominating the award for the last 10 years, Modric won- showing the football world that it isn’t a forward’s award but a player’s award.