pic credit: [email protected] Madrid

The attacking midfielder of Real Madrid Luka Modric has recently honoured with the international football award Golden Foot Monaco 2019 on Monday. The Croatian legend bagged the reputable honour for the first time in 17 years. The award which is given to the players who stand out for their athletic achievements and personality has been conferred to 34-year-old experienced footballer Modric this year for his amazing performances in past events.

While receiving the grand honour of Golden Foot Award 2019, the Croatia superstar Luka Modric said in his award-winning speech, “it is an honour for me to receive this award,” Modric said. “I am returning to my best level, as I showed in the last game against Eibar. There are seven very important matches until the end of the year and we will try to keep playing well.”

With this prestigious honour, Modric has become the second footballer to win the Golden Foot a year after winning the Ballon d’Or. The attacking midfielder clinched the lustrous title of Ballon d’Or earlier in 2018. But now it seems like he will not be able to participate in the historic award night this year as Luka Modric is not nominated for Ballon d’Or Awards 2019. This year football greats, as well as arch-rivals Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, will be in the race to win the shining trophy of Ballon d’Or.

Both Messi and Ronaldo have won five Ballon d’Or trophies so far and this year’s sensational ceremony will be a tie-breaker for the legends. Only time will tell who The much-awaited event of the biggest football awards Ballon d’Or 2019 is scheduled to be held in Paris on December 2nd.

Here’s check out the complete list of Golden Foot Award Winners in past 17 Years:

  • 2019: Luka Modric (Croatia)
  • 2018: Edison Cavani (Uruguay)
  • 2017: Iker Casillas (Spain)
  • 2016: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
  • 2015: Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)
  • 2014: Andres Iniesta (Spain)
  • 2013: Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire)
  • 2012: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
  • 2011: Ryan Giggs (Wales)
  • 2010: Francesco Totti (Italy)
  • 2009: Ronaldinho (Brazil)
  • 2008: Roberto Carlos (Brazil)
  • 2007: Alessandro Del Piero (Italy)
  • 2006: Ronaldo Nazário (Brazil)
  • 2005: Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine)
  • 2004: Pavel Nedved (Czech)
  • 2003: Roberto Baggio (Italy)