Premier League Banner
Premier League.

On Thursday, PFA announced the Premier League Team of the year for the season 2018-19 and there aren’t many surprises except one in that XI. Premier League 2018/19 title contenders Manchester City and Liverpool dominated the team of the year with only Manchester United’s Paul Pogba being the only exceptional player from any other club.

Despite having a mixed season, Pogba got picked in the team which is voted for by Premier League players. In the recent matches, Pogba was not at his level best against Everton, Barcelona and rivals City which saw the Red Devils miss out on many chances. He also had a few ‘known’ differences with former United manager Jose Mourinho, who was sacked mid-season in 2018.

Chelsea’s playmaker Eden Hazard’s exclusion was the biggest shock for everyone as he was selected on the six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Player of the Year award. Hazard is on top form this year as he has scored 16 goals and 10 assists in the Premier League this season.

Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson was the other star to miss out in the team of the year, as he lost his place to Manchester City’s Ederson. Defending champions City have six players who cemented their place in the team while The Reds was just one step behind them with six.

After the team, the race of PFA Player of the Year is still on between Sergio Aguero, Raheem Sterling, Bernardo Silva, Virgil Van Dijk, Eden Hazard and Sadio Mane. Right now, Van Dijk is on the pole position to win the accolade ahead of the other six Premier League stars.

While the Premier League title race is again heated up between Manchester City and Liverpool after the Citizens beat their neighbouring rivals United 2-0 to jump on the top position on the table, City are just one point ahead of Liverpool and the upcoming matches of both teams will decide the fate of title winners.

Team of the Year: Ederson (Manchester City), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Liverpool).