pic credit: [email protected] India

The FIH series finals at Bhubaneswar is considered to be the ticket to 2020 Tokyo Olympics for Indian men’s hockey team as the squad could reach to the biggest sports platform after finishing among top two out of the eight teams in FIH finals. Earlier, India failed to clear the direct qualification round at 2018 Asian Games as they lost to Malaysian squad in the semifinals. This results in the sacking of former Indian head coach Harendra Singh who was replaced by veteran expert Graham Reid. After taking the reigns of Indian National Hockey Team, the main target of Reid is to ensure an Olympics berth for his squad.


Moreover, India has already announced its 18-member squad for the grand tournament starting from June 6 till June 15 earlier in last week.

The tournament will feature total eight teams including India with fifth FIH ranking, Poland with 21st FIH ranking, Russia with 22nd FIH ranking, Uzbekistan with 43rd FIH ranking, South Africa with 16th FIH ranking, Japan with 18th FIH ranking, USA with 25th FIH ranking and Mexico with 39th FIH ranking.

Here is the complete list of coaches officiating in 2019 FIH series finals at Bhubaneswar:


Coach: Graham Reid

Past achievements: Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2019 runners-up, 2018 Asian Games bronze-medallist, sixth position at World Cup 2018


Coach: Karol Sniezek 

Past achievements: Finished 8th at 1982 as well as 1986 World Cup seasons and fourth at 1980 Olympics event


Coach: Vladimir Konkin

Past achievements:  2013 Euro Hockey Championship II title winners and seventh at 2011 Euro Hockey Championships


Coach: Rinat Mamatkazin

Past Achievements: Won FIH series open in Pakistan

South Africa 
Coach: Garreth Ewing
Past achievements: two-time All-Africa Games gold medallists, 2001 FIH Champions Challenge silver medallist, 10th at 2010 World cup and 16th at 2018 World Cup
Coach: Siegfried Aikman
Past achievements: 2018 Asian Games gold medallists, 2013 Asian Hockey Champions Trophy silver medallists, 1966 Asian Games bronze medallist and 1932 Olympic games silver medallists
Coach: Rutger Wiese
Past achievements: 2017 Pan American Cup bronze medallists, 2009 Pan American Cup silver medallist, won FIH series open at Mexico

Coach: Pol Moreno

Past achievements : 2010 Central American and Caribbean Games gold medallists, 1971 Pan American Games silver-medallist, second at FIH series open in Mexico.