pic credit: [email protected] India

Indian women tasted their first defeat in the fourth encounter of five-match hockey series against Great Britain on Wednesday. The powerful hosts showed the visitors that they are here to win this ongoing series in front of their own crowd. Britain women’s squad thrashed the Indian women by 3-1 scoreline in Marlow, England. When everything was going well for the Indians in the ongoing series, Great Britain suddenly emerged as the strong contenders in the fourth round.

Both the teams went hard on each other at the beginning of the game but Britain was playing a bit cautiously. Within five minutes of starting England’s Charlotte Watson found the net and open an account for his team with a successful 1-0 lead. However, without wasting much time India’s brilliant midfielder Neha Goyal also fired an equalizer at 18th minute. The head-on-head game was later followed by one more goal from hosts at 29th minute. As a result, Britain’s women grabbed the lead in their favour by the end of the first half.

In the second half also, hosts kept their dominance alive with beck-to-back penalty corners. Though, India’s superstrong goalie Savita Punia made some amazing saves to prevent Britain from taking the massive lead in the game. At last unstoppable Giselle Ansley fired the match-winning shot at 50th minute and handed the visitors their first defeat of the ongoing series.

The Indian women’s squad started their prestigious hockey campaign against Great Britain on a winning note as they comfortably clinch the series opener by 2-1 margin at Marlow, England. In the second battle of important five-match series, India outplayed a 1-1 draw against Britain. All thanks to the star forward Lalremsiami who fired a crucial equalizer in dying minutes. This was followed by another match-draw between both the squads as India outplayed a goal-less draw yet again in front of the hosting team Britain.

Both the teams will next face each other in the fifth and final series encounter at Marlow on Friday. It will be interesting to see who will be declared as the winner of the five-match campaign between both the powerful teams.