pic credit: [email protected] India

Ahead of Indian Men’s Hockey Team departure for Belgium tour, Hockey India has recently announced the 33 probable players for the senior men’s national camp which is scheduled to be held at Bangalore between September 2nd and September 22nd. The camp has been organized for the talented team of men in blue just to prepare them for the upcoming battles. The most important tournament of Olympics qualifiers 2019 is all set to roll in a few months and Indian men’s hockey team can’t take any risk this time. As a result, the Indian team is practising hard and also participated in the national camp for hardcore training. The qualifiers will begin either in October or November. The upcoming Belgium tour will be a great platform for the Indian team to prepare for the FIH Olympic qualifiers.

The head coach of Indian men’s hockey team Graham Reid said while announcing the probable players, “at the end of September, we will travel to Europe to play and train with some of the best teams in the world. We need to be prepared for that, which will provide a great platform for the Olympic qualifiers in October/November”.

Indian men were last seen in action at recently concluded Olympics Test Event 2019 at Japan where Blues clinched the prestigious title against New Zealand in the grand finale. The Indian squad led by star skipper Harmanpreet Singh thrashed the strong opponents by 5-0 scoreline. Ace Indian players reached the finals after defeating hosting team Japan in round-robin clash. India beat Japan with the great margin of 6-3 in the third encounter of Olympics Test Event at the Oi Hockey Stadium.

Probables for men’s national camp

Goalkeepers: P.R. Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera, and Krishan Bahadur Pathak

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Varun Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Jarmanpreet Singh, and Dipsan Tirkey

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Jaskaran Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Ashis Kumar Topno, Sayyad Niyaz Rahim, and Raj Kumar Pal

Forwards: Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Shilanand Lakra, Gursahibjit Singh, Shamsher Singh, Simranjeet Singh, SV Sunil, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, and Lalit Kumar Upadhyay