pic credit: [email protected] India

Indian Men’s Hockey Team is all set to represent the country in FIH Men’s Series Finals as Hockey India has named the 18-men national hockey squad for the grand tournament starting from June 6 till June 15 at Bhubaneswar. The showpiece event will feature total eighth teams including India, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Russia, South Africa, USA and Uzbekistan.


Notably, the star player of Indian men’s hockey team Manpreet Singh is going to lead the squad in the prestigious tournament along with his deputy Birendra Lakra while experienced players PR Sreejesh and Krishan B. Pathak will defend the goal-post for the side against the opponents.

Apart from these star players, Ramadeep Singh also made it to the finals squad after recovering well from the injury. The 26-year-old brilliant forward was sidelined from the game for nine months followed by his knee injury during Champion Trophy 2018 at Breda.

Moreover, Singh will join attacking forwards Mandeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Akashdeep Singh in the leading row to form a great pounce for India.

The head coach of India National team, Graham Reid said on the selection of men’s hockey team, “we have selected a well-balanced group including Ramandeep Singh, who is returning from injury and Varun Kumar who was rested for the Australian tour”. Further, he also added, “the team’s emphasis at the moment is on circle entries, finishing, tight marking and tackling”.

Earlier this month, Indian men defeated by Australians in the first test of two-match series at Perth Hockey Stadium, Australia. The hosting team shocked the Indian visitors with the margin of 4-0. Though, the Australian tour gave the team an experience to work harder on their style of game. Now, it will be interesting to see whether Graham Reid’s team will clinch the title of FIH series 2019 or not.

Here is the complete list of the 18-men squad for FIH Men’s Hockey Series Finals:

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh and Krishan B Pathak

Defenders – Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas and Gurinder Singh

Mid-fielders – Manpreet Singh,Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Sumit and Nilakanta

Forwards – Mandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Simranjit Singh