pic credit: [email protected] India

As the biggest eve for greatest sports honours is all set to roll, Hockey India has recommended the names of the veteran hockey players for highest sports honour Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement 2019 and Arjuna Award.

The authorities have named brilliant goalkeeper PR Sreejesh for Khel Ratna Award while for Arjuna Award, top midfielder of men’s hockey team Chinglensana Singh Kangujam along with ace forward Akashdeep Singh and women’s team defender Deepika have been suggested by Hockey India. Apart from these players, Dr RP Singh and Sandeep Kaur have been named for Major Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement 2019. The 32-year-old Indian goalkeeper Sreejesh made his hockey debut in the senior national team in 2006 at the time of South Asian Games in Colombo. All the hockey players nominated for these awards have achieved success across many years which became the reason for their nominations.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is bestowed to those genius sports personalities who performed spectacularly and outstandingly in their past four years career stint, while Arjuna Award is presented to those players who performed exceptionally in their respective fields and also showcased the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline throughout their career.

The Secretary general of Hockey India, Mr Rajinder Singh said on the development, “we are happy to endorse these current and former hockey players for the National Awards 2019. Over the course of their careers, as players and coaches respectively, these athletes have contributed  immensely  to Indian Hockey”.

Earlier last month, Wrestling Federation of India suggested World Champion Bajrang Punia and young talent Vinesh Phogat for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards 2019.