pic credit: [email protected] India

The junior men’s hockey squad of India showed their prowess to the world after defeating strong New Zealand opponents in the ‘Sultan of Johor Cup 2019’ on Sunday. In their second match of the prestigious event, Indians clobbered the New Zealand squad by great 8-2 margin. The blues gave an all-rounder performance against Kiwis in order to win the lop-sided match at Taman Daya Hockey Stadium, Malaysia.

Not so surprisingly, it was the aggressive Indians who started their game on a positive note and marked the opener within just six minutes of starting. All thanks to the star forward Dilpreet Singh who scored a fantastic field goal to give a brilliant 1-0 lead to India. The men in blue then kept suppressing their opponents with back-to-back strong hits. This resulted in India sounded with a second brilliant goal by Shilanand Lakra at the 14th minute of the first half.

Right after the three minutes of the second goal, Indian defender Sanjay registered another goal for India and gave his team a 3-0 lead against Kiwis. Indians continued their good work in the game and in the 20th minute star skipper Mandeep Mor came forward to net the fourth goal for his side. In this way, the first quarter ended with 4-0 lead in India’s favour.

At the beginning of the second quarter also blues kept their dominance alive as Sanjay marked another goal for his team to trail India by 5-0 lead. However, in the dying minutes of the second quarter, New Zealand’s Dylan Thomas finally found the net and open an account for his team at the 28th minute. As a result, both the teams went on a break with a 5-1 scoreline on the board.

In the third quarter also, Thomas tried his best to save his drowning side and his hard work paid off as he grabbed another goal for New Zealand at 44th minute to update the scoreboard with a 5-2 scoreline. But the celebration of Kiwis was short-lived as in the next minute Suman Beck fired a strong shot towards the goal post to extend India’s lead to 6-2.

When only few minutes were left for the final whistle, India’s Pratap Lakra and Sudeep Chirmako moved ahead to hit the goals on 50th and 51st respectively. At last India successfully sealed the match with 8-2 verdict. Indians will next take on Japan’s squad in the third campaign encounter in Malaysia on Tuesday.