NZ Rugby League has resumed with jam-packed stadiums.(source:NZ Rugby League twitter handle)

New Zealand is the first country in the world to defeat coronavirus, there is no doubt that they fought this corona battle very well and came out as winners. As New Zealand is corona free now rugby league has started in New Zealand that too with the audience in the stadium.

The rugby league begins

The first match was played in Dunedin’s Forsyth Barr Stadium, between Highlanders and Chiefs. There were around 20000 fans in the stadium, only 2800 seats were empty, as the capacity of stadiums is 22800. 

The second match will be played between Blues and the Hurricanes, the match is scheduled to be played on Sunday. 42000 tickets have been sold so far, the fans are coming out to see their favorite teams play. Other countries are still following social distancing, whereas New Zealand has become corona free and there is no such limitation of following social distancing.

World Rugby has changed some rules

World Rugby has made some changes to increase the interest of spectators. if the score of both the teams is equal at the end of 80 minutes, then 10 extra minutes will be given, out of which the first 5 minutes will be golden points. It means if any team scores in the first 5 minutes, then that team will be declared as the winner. The second change is that now teams will be able to replace the player who has a red card after twenty minutes of his going out.

New Zealand government did a great job

Chiefs team’s coach warren Gatland said to radio 5 live, corona situation has improved very rapidly. He said’ “ we were thinking that it will take some time to get out of this. It was planned to play league in an empty stadium. We thought that players will have to travel through charter planes, but the New Zealand government has done a great job” 

Rugby tournament is four countries has been called off

New Zealand has won the battle against corona, but it is not the case with every country. Some countries have canceled their rugby leagues, namely Australia, South Africa, Argentina, and Japan.