Mendy impressed in a penalty shootout defeat against Spurs. @chelsea/Twitter

Tottenham Hotspur entered the last eight of the Carabao Cup, which they last won in 2008, at the expense of their London rivals, Chelsea.

Frank Lampard and his counterpart, Jose Mourinho, fielded a much-changed side with Lampard making eight changes whereas the Portuguese made nine changes. Last season, Frank Lampard got the better of his ex-manager by winning both encounters.

For Jose Mourinho’s Spurs, this was their 2nd match of the astonishing four matches they have to play in eight games.

Both teams got plenty of chances in an intriguing battle. Timo Werner opened the scoring at the 19th minute, deftly placing the ball at the right bottom corner from Cesar Azpilicueta’s cross. However, it sparked life out of Spurs who gave Chelsea’s defense a lot of headaches from thereon. Gedson Fernandez was only denied a goal by a last-ditch tackle by Fikayo Tomori.

Erik Lamela also got a decent chance which was saved by Chelsea’s new shot-stopper, Edouard Mendy. In what proved out to be an impressive display overall in the round of 16 clash, Mendy made a number of saves to keep Spurs at bay.

Mendy impressed in defeat against Spurs. @chelsea/Twitter

Finally, Spurs’ persistence was deservedly rewarded when Erik Lamela scored from a Sergi Reguilon cross to level the score at the 83′ minute. The match went into penalties.

Nine penalty takers placed the ball in the back of the net. However, the 10th penalty which was taken by Mason Mount hit the post, which gave Spurs a quarter-final berth at the Carabao Cup. The Spurs faithful would now certainly be crossing their fingers in the hope, that this is the year when they finally lift a major trophy since 2008.