pic credits : [email protected]

Reigning champions Croatia will take on defending champions Russia in the opening match of Davis Cup Finals on November 18 at Madrid. This time a new 18 teams format has been announced which replaced the previous World Group. In this year’s Davis Cup, participating contingents have been divided into six three-team groups and the best two runners up along with all the winners will secure the berth in quarterfinals of the game.

The International Tennis Federation (ITF) said, “four semi-finalists would automatically qualify for the 2020 finals, the worst two teams in the group stage will drop into the Zone Group competition, with the other 12 sides to play in the qualifiers”.

The two-time title winners Croatia defeated former Davis Cup champions France by 3-1 in Davis Cup Finals 2018. The World No.7 tennis player Marin Cilic was the man behind Croatia’s victory who stormed at opponent France in the grand finale.

Moreover, Junior Davis Cup will commence from April 8 to 13 in Bangkok, Thailand and total 16 teams including Pakistan are going to participate in Junior Davis Cup 2019. Earlier, the event was scheduled to be held in India but due to closure of Pakistani airspace in the aftermath of drastic Pulwama attack the venue was shifted to Bangkok.

Here’s the Group-stage Schedule for Davis Cup finals 2019: 

November 18, Monday :
Croatia vs Russia (Group B),  Italy vs Canada (Group F), Belgium vs Colombia (Group D)

November 19, Tuesday : Argentina vs Chile (Group C),  France vs Japan (Group A), Kazakhstan vs Netherlands (Group E),  Spain vs Russia (Group B), United States vs Canada (Group F), Australia vs Colombia (Group D)

November 20, Wednesday: Argentina vs Germany (Group C), Serbia vs Japan (Group A), Britain vs Netherlands (Group E), Croatia vs Spain (Group B), United States vs Italy (Group F), Belgium vs Australia (Group D)

November 21, Thursday: France vs Serbia (Group A), Germany vs Chile (Group C), Britain vs Kazakhstan (Group E)