ATP Finals
Credits: Twitter @atptour

The year end tennis championship is just a few days away and hence the singles draw for the 2020 Nitto ATP Finals, to be held at The O2 in London from 15-22 November, was made on Thursday.

World no.1 Novak Djokovic who will be bidding to earn a record-trying sixth trophy at the season finale, leads Group Tokyo 1970 alongside Daniil Medvedev, Alexander Zverev and Diego Schwartzman. Djokovic has a 39-3 match record on the season and has qualified for the season finale 13 times. He triumphed at the event in 2008 and 2012-15.

World no.2 Rafael Nadal, who has earned his spot at the prestigious event for a record 16 consecutive years, leads Group London 2020 alongside Dominic Thiem, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Andrey Rublev. Nadal, who has a 25-5 record in 2020 with two titles, has earned a berth at the Nitto ATP Finals every season starting in 2005.

Group Tokyo 1970
Novak Djokovic
Daniil Medvedev
Alexander Zverev
Diego Schwartzman

Group London 2020
Rafael Nadal
Dominic Thiem
Stefanos Tsitsipas
Andrey Rublev

The other two former champions of the event are 2019 champion Tsitsipas and 2018 titlist Zverev. Thiem, the third seed, captured his first Grand Slam title this year at the US Open. Rublev and Schwartzman are first-time competitors at the event. Seven different countries are represented in the elite eight-man singles field. Four played aged 24 and under will compete at The O2.

This is the 50th Anniversary of the Nitto ATP Finals, which was first held in 1970 in Tokyo, where Smith lifted the trophy. It is the tournament’s 12th and final edition in London. Next year, the season finale will move to Turin, Italy.

Italian Matteo Berrettini, the 2019 qualifier, and Canadian Denis Shapovalov are first and second alternates, respectively, in the singles field.